Archive for October 3, 2014

.

the-eminem-show-cover-big

.

3 October 2014

“Here’s some plastic, Dennis,” said Outcast. “Have a seat. So how’s your week been going. You should see Alphonse, he must have done a face plant somewhere. He’s a mess. Speak of the devil, here he comes. Hey, Alphonse! What happened?”

“I kissed the street. Apparently… apparently, I was going down the stairs over there and I fell face first.  I think I broke a rib.”

Hey Alphonse!” said Nick. “Do you remember seeing me last night? You were with your woman, Magdalene.”

“I remember seeing her yesterday, but I don’t remember seeing you. In fact, I don’t remember anything after seven o’clock.

“Magdalene is a bitch. Do you agree with me André? She’s a bitch.”

“She can be, if she wants to…” replied André, “so can all women.”

Alphonse continued, “She wants power. That’s what she wants. She’s vicious, as well, and she likes to fight.

“Dennis, can you spare some bus tickets. They’re not for me, they’re for Magdalene. She’s always going places…going here, going there.”

“Thank you, my friend.”

“How have you been, André?” I asked.

“I was on my bike and I got cut off. My thigh hit the top rail of that metal fence. I could hardly walk for a couple of days. Apart from that everything is fine.”

“Jacques was looking at the sweat shirt worn by a woman sitting across from him. “What does that say? Do you read it from front to back, or from back to front. Is it EMINEM OR MENIME?”

 André said, “I think it’s Mini-Me.”

Jacques continued. “I hear that next month, all of our checks are going to be direct deposit. That’s okay for me, but for some, who don’t have bank accounts, it’s going to be a problem. Some people don’t use their real name. It’s going to be hard for them.”

Alphonse asked Jacques, “Can you give me a gram. I’ll pay you tomorrow. You know I’m good for it. I always pay my debts.”

Alphonse asked, “Dennis, how long have I known you. Is it five years?”

“I think it’s four, Alphonse.”

“Four years…I’ve known these guys for a lot longer. I don’t know how long it’s been. It’s nice to have respect. They know they can trust me. We’re family.

“I respect my mother. I help her whenever I can. I take my hat off when I eat, because that’s what my mother taught me.”

Outcast asked, “What is it with all these restaurants closing at nine o’clock. I had to walk two miles to find one open. I bought a chicken and a roast beef sandwich. When I got home, I passed out. I ate the chicken sandwich in the morning and was sick as a dog. It must have been because of the mayonnaise. I forgot to put the sandwiches in the fridge. I was puking my guts out. I threw away the roast beef as well. That was a waste of fifteen bucks.”

Francois was getting up to leave. He shook hands with everyone and handed me a five dollar bill. I asked, “What’s this for.”

“You gave me a meal card a couple of months ago.”

“Thanks, Francois”

.