Archive for September 22, 2014

.

wheel

.

22 September 2014

“Good morning, Chuck. How was the wedding? Did you go?”

“Yes I went and I had a great time. Mind you, my sisters ex husband wasn’t treated so well. Everybody likes my sister, but nobody likes his new wife. She’s just one of those people who it’s hard to like. I don’t have anything against her. We all have shitty ass holes, and we all wipe them the same way. Nobody’s better than anybody else. I’ve tried to like her, She’s just an unlikable person.

“There were a lot of attractive women there. If I had been six years younger, before my heart attacks, I would have gotten some action. At one wedding – I can’t remember which one, we have such a big family – I’d gone out for a smoke. It was before they had the laws against smoking in public buildings, but some people there were very sensitive to cigarette smoke. They announced earlier in the evening that anyone who wanted to smoke should do it outside. Anyway, there was this nice looking woman who was putting out her cigarette out at the same time I was.  We walked into the hall together. Beside the hall was a bowling alley, she said to me, ‘It’s so long since I’ve been bowling.’ I said to her, ‘Now’s your chance. Let’s go in and bowl a few frames.’ So we did. We went back to the wedding. I was sitting down when she asked me if I wanted to dance. I said, ‘Sure.’ Before long we were kissing, she had her tongue halfway down my throat. A guy came up and tapped me on the shoulder. He said, ‘What do you think you’re doing with my wife?’ I said, ‘I’m not doing anything with her. She asked me to dance.’

“Did you hear about the man who was beaten and robbed, on the weekend, near my place? There were three guys, beating another guy on the ground. I didn’t have my phone with me so I yelled to some of the bystanders, ‘Somebody phone the cops!’ They just stood and watched. One guy said, ‘I don’t want to get involved.’ I yelled, ‘Will one of you cowardly cocksuckers, take your hands out of your pockets and call the cops.‘ Nothing.

“Also there was a woman raped on the weekend. She was standing at a bus stop when she was approached by four men. ‘Against her will the woman was led to a secluded area where she was sexually assaulted, beaten and robbed, while bystanders did nothing to help.’  That’s what it said in the newspaper this morning. I can’t figure people out.

“In the days when I was still drinking, I used to pan across the street. A woman slipped on the ice and banged the back of her head. All these people in suits walked right past, didn’t pay any attention to her. I went over and helped her get up. I said, ‘If you feel dizzy, later on, be sure to tell someone to call you an ambulance. It will mean that you’ve had a concussion.’ I made sure she got to where she was going. A week later she came by and gave me ten bucks. She said, ‘I’m so grateful to you. Who’d have thought that government workers would pass me by, and a bum in the street would offer me help.’

“That’s what I was back then, a bum in the street.”

.